OPID Programs

Office of Professional and Instructional Development (OPID)’s signature programs: Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars (WTFS), OPID Spring Conference, and Faculty College
In this Section

The 2020 Spring Conference on Teaching and Learning has been postponed because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Full refunds for conference registration and book orders are being processed. Please remember to cancel any lodging accommodations you made for your stay in Madison, Wisconsin.

For more information visit the Spring Conference on Teaching website.


Explore the links below to the most recent OPID Programs and discover future experiences you are welcome to participate in by clicking on the links to the right of the screen.

2020 OPID Spring Conference

The Joys of Teaching & Learning: Creating Transformative Experiences

Thursday, April 16 & Friday, April 17, 2020 Memorial Union, Madison, WI

Calling for Proposals!

OPID sponsors this annual conference each April. Approximately 200 faculty, staff and students come together across diverse disciplines to present scholarly results from teaching and student learning related research. This dynamic event provides networking, educational and scholarly engagement opportunities for all who attend! Instructors from all fields and community members in collaboration with UW System faculty are encouraged to submit a presentation proposal. Please view: Program/Proposal Details for more information.

Proposal Deadline: Monday, November 18, 2019

2020 Call for Applications Faculty College

Keynote Speaker & Facilitator: Stephen Brookfield (John Ireland Chair at the University of St. Thomas in Minneapolis, Minnesota and author of Becoming a Critically Reflective TeacherThe Skillful TeacherThe Discussion Book, and, most recently, Teaching Race) NTLC is seeking 5 instructors to team up with the NTLC director to engage in deep and meaningful dialogue during the four-day workshop themed: Equity-Minded Pedagogy. The intent will be to bring back insights to Stout that will aid in strengthening equity-minded pedagogy-influenced programming. This will be a very impactful and reflective experience.

*UW System’s OPID will pay for lodging, meals, and programming for our UW-Stout participants (in addition to the Wisconsin Teaching Fellows & Scholars). Instructors will be assigned to a double suite, each with two private bedrooms and two bathrooms. Regarding getting there, NTLC will cover the cost of travel to and from the resort, with arrangements being made for a SUV that will enable attendees to carpool.

*Faculty College participants will be expected to write three one-page reflections at the end of Faculty College, the Fall 2020 semester, and Spring 2021 semester. A certificate of achievement will be sent to each participant in recognition of their dedication to excellence in teaching and learning.

2020-2021 WTFS Call for Applications

OPID invites UW-Stout faculty and instructional academic staff to apply for its award-winning year-long Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars programThis program brings together a cohort of educators from across the UW System to engage in the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL). You are encouraged to apply.

WTFS 2020-21 ApplicationDue Tuesday, November 19, 2019

NTLC WTFS 2020-21 Program Description

YouTube Video from Mitch Ogden, UW-Stout Wisconsin Teaching Scholar 2018-2019

YouTube Video from Todd Zimmerman, UW-Stout Wisconsin Teaching Fellow 2013-2014


Honoring Our Participants

Each UW institution may nominate two to three candidates for the WTFS program. The awardees participate in events throughout the year, including attending Faculty College, a summer institute, and fall and winter seminars. Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars are expected to serve as leaders and mentors, sharing their project ideas and outcomes in a variety of public forums.

Past Years' Fellows and Scholars






  • Laura Reisinger, Communication Technology (Fellow)
  • Cynthia Rohrer, Food & Nutrition (Scholar)


  • Mitch Ogden, English and Philosophy (Scholar)




  • Debbie Stanislawski, Teaching, Learning & Leadership (Scholar)



  • Chelsea Lovejoy, Psychology (Fellow)
  • David Ding, Operations Management (Scholar) 


  • Kate Edenborg, English (Fellow) and Philosophy
  • Jim Handley, Social Science (Fellow)


  • Fassil Fanta, Social Science (Fellow)
  • Tina Lee, Social Science (Fellow)




  • Todd Zimmerman, Ph.D., Physics (Fellow)
  • Joleen Hanson, Ph.D., English and Philosophy (Fellow)
  • Maureen Mitton, MA, CID, School of Art and Design (Scholar)


  • Maleka Hasimi, Ph.D., Biology (Fellow)
  • Judy Johanna Hopp, Ph.D., Physics (Fellow)
  • Laura Jean Schmidt, Ph.D., Mathematics (Scholar)



  • Derek Wissmiller, Ph.D., Engineering and Technology (Fellow) 





  • Amanda Little, Ph.D., Biology (Fellow)
  • Julie Peterson, Ph.D., Art and Design (Fellow)
  • Diane Klemme, Ph.D., SoE Instruction (Scholar)



  • Damian Hanft, Ph.D., Hospitality and Tourism (Fellow)
  • Quan Zhou, Ph.D., English and Philosophy (Fellow)
  • Terri Karis, Ph.D., Human Development and Family Studies (Scholar)


  • Phillip Motley, Ph.D., Art and Design (Fellow)
  • Laura Schmidt, Ph.D., Mathematics (Fellow)